Some Memories of Our Childhood

Manish Kumar
3 min readJul 8, 2019

--

Do you remember that feeling when you were a young boy and everything that you see was full of love and happiness? I mean playing in the sand, those pointless talk with friends, wish to have some superpowers, and so on. Do you still remember them?

Instagram | Manish Kumar

How funny it is, when I was a kid, I wanted to be a grown-up man. When was in school, I wish that I was in college. When I was in college, I wish I have a job. And now when I have a job, now I want to be a kid again.

One thing that I have seen from my life is that no matter where you are, no matter what age you are, there will always be some sort of problems. But the thing is when you are a kid, you don’t have that kind of responsibilities. I still remember when I was in school, all I ever cared about was my homework. That’s the one thing that scares me most and obviously, I hated most.

I mean when I was a kid, writing one single article or solving two to three questions seems too much. And now if I had to do those, I think it will only take me 2 to 3 minutes to complete that. See that’s where I realize that if we keep trying to solve our problems, if we keep pushing hard, then one day that work which seems too much to us will become our warm-up.

I still remember when getting out in dark, scares the shit out of me. I still remember how much I scared of ghosts. But as per the time passes, I realize real ghosts are not those who came out in dark or hiding under our bed. But are those people who wear a fake mask and betray us when they get the chance.

When breaking a promise was a really big thing, now I realize promises are just only words and they don’t mean anything in this world.

I still remember when I force my parents to buy me that toy or something expensive. Now I realized the real value of money. When getting pocket money from parents was a big deal, now earning in millions can’t even match that feeling. When getting a new school bag or new shoes was the main center of my happiness, now even buying a luxurious car can’t even match that happiness. When teasing each other with some stupid names was a funny game, now I see people play with each other feelings and that has become a real game.

As per the time passes, we grow, we get more responsibilities, we get more tension and in this circle of life, the kid inside us dies.

I just want to say it to you, “appreciate what you have, appreciate where you are, appreciate every single thing in life that you have…because in the end, all that matter is how happy you are.”

--

--